Jostijn

By Jostijn

Waving

And then it's quiet.

14,317 days after my birthday, she is gone. It seems like many days, but there are far too few.

My mum had an active life in which she has meant so much to so many people. Not just for Pieter (my father, he passed away 10 years ago), Koos (my brother) and me, but she maintained family ties for 67 years, nearly 40 years with high school students, decades of friendships. 39 years, 2 months and 11 days being my mother.

Liesbeth was a beautiful woman, she was so full of life. Wasn't afraid to speak up, always wanted the best for everyone she met, loved my dad, made sure his wild ideas were channeled. And was always teaching. At her own school and at home. Endless tests at home and help with studying. Always with the idea that I could do more than I thought I was able to. And she was right.

She knew I am not the fastest. And that's okay. That it will all work out.

I've made a series of photos for her last year and that was very valuable. I could put her on the pedestal she so deserved, but she didn't feel that way herself.
The most characteristic image was this waving photo. She always was waving at us; until the last second we were in sight.

Today we waved you goodbye. With words and music and lots of flowers.



I am going to miss you so much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.