A Gift From the Heart

Some days are just hard. Coffee didn't help this morning. My mind skittered away from thoughts of the empty space where the dog bed had been since the day we moved here. John rushed about making lists and ignoring everything on them. I took Spike for a walk but gave up prematurely because there are so many big trucks on our little lane that it didn't feel safe to be pedestrian. The demolition of the house next door has started, and sounded like bombs detonating.as giant rocks were dropped into dump trucks making endless trips to wherever they take rocks and ruined houses. 

I talked John into joining me in my Pilates strength and balance class...a bit of a comedy as we attempted to avoid hitting each other with weights or falling on each other as we attempted to balance. It did us good though, and we felt better as we tried to address ourselves to the fact that Christmas is just 9 days away and there is much to do. In fact, we haven't really done much....

I've become a veritable hermit and find I have very little desire to do things I used to relish. As this pandemic drags on I can't help feeling jerked around...by so many people and things that are completely out of my control and yet seem to be determining my fate. I certainly believe in 'following the science' as they say, but there is such an underlying lack of humanity in all the rules put forward...from keeping two meters from people we love and want to hug to old people dying alone with nobody to comfort them. I feel for all the restaurants and small businesses that close the doors, open the doors, put their stock on the sidewalk or give haircuts in back yards, put up tents  and buy outdoor heaters and set them up in parking lots, only to have someone tell them to take it all down and close the doors again....no wonder we have our bolshy moments from time to time.

At least we are grumpy and not despairing as I said to Blipper blethers today.

We were saved from sinking into the 'slough of despond' by a doorstep visit from our lovely Kathy holding a  kinetic sculpture of hearts suspended within each other and slowly turning with the slightest breath of air. I'm sure they are made from barrel hoops....everything tin this county that isn't an actual barrel, from candle holders to cheese boards to furniture is made from barrel hoops and staves. Having decided to 'follow the science' and cancel our Thursday workouts together until some new directive comes out,  she didn't risk coming into the house. I said there weren't many places left from which to hang it but that we would build something if necessary. She called from her car after she left to say that there was a hook on our porch eave ...

...and  there it is, at least for now, to remind us that love is the best answer for just about everything. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.