occhi verdi

By occhiverdi

strawberry peace

so this little guy may not look like much.. (and it shouldn't because it's the tiniest strawberry i have EVER seen) but it is freshly picked from the garden this afternoon.
i definitely needed the macro lens to make a decent shot of it.

it is a refreshing part of my day to reminisce on being a little girl all covered in dirt sitting among the strawberry runners and popping little ones like this into my mouth one after the other.

especially after discovering some very disturbing and sickening news.

it all boils down to this desire within me to create peace and to do one thing after another to get peace.. and it's a fruitless pursuit. all i have to do is BE reconciled to God.
reconciliation happened when we were enemies, when my back was turned towards his face. but he comes after us, towards us, wanting to take care of the problem that is separating us from him - including, but not limited to, the problems that i created out of my own selfishness. and he dealt with them; in grace, christ came to settle the issue.
and peace isn't dependent on my ability to perform for him.
i accept that. by not accepting it, i de-value the work of the cross, that grace on the cross. unbelief masking itself in self-pity.
while sorrow for my sin is appropriate, guilt comes from me not trusting that christ's sacrifice is enough to cover me.
now that's pretty grandiose to think that...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.