The spider and a fly

I looked at the views out our of my study window as normal this morning. Then I had a double-take as I refocused through the strong sunlight on the window itself. There was a spider's web and in it a fly being wound around into a parcel by the web's owner.

By the time I'd gone downstairs for my camera and returned the spider was already on the move with its cargo, presumably into its lair. Moments later it had climbed up under the eaves of the roof ready to either eat or store its victim. Life goes on for some, but not for 'others'.

Not a great photo, but it was shot through the double-glazing at a steep angle. Parts of the web were vibrating strongly, whilst other bits were still, as you can see in the varied strands of the threads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.