ABSTRACT THURSDAY - STRIPES

I had to be up early today because I had an 8.30 appointment with the hygienist. Actually it’s my dentist who does the cleaning and scraping now because the hygienist isn’t allowed to use the high speed drill but I’m happy with that because he is much more gentle than the actual hygienist, but please don’t tell her I said so!

If you know me, you will remember that I often don’t look at the theme for the day’s challenge until I’ve posted my photograph and then find its way off track. However, because I knew I would be out for much of the morning, I decided that I would use this piece of knitting that I’ve been doing for a couple of days. Imagine my delight at 11 o’clock last night when I discovered that the theme for today was “stripes“.  However, being a stickler for the rules of Blip, the photograph had to be taken today, Thursday, so I decided to wait up until after midnight so that it was taken on the right day.   At one minute past midnight, the photograph was taken, so job done.  

Mr. HCB had dropped me off earlier and after my visit to the dentist, I had a few bits and pieces to buy, so when I was ready for him to collect me, rather than stand around doing nothing, I typed out my journal entry.  This piece of knitting and I’m not going to say what it is, is going to a lovely Blip friend and I hope that she, or rather her granddaughter, will enjoy it.

While I was out this morning I have bought some more wool so will be doing more knitting because I find it very relaxing. In fact yesterday afternoon I spent three hours in my new  Quiet room, and it was amazing - I had some beautiful music playing, did some knitting and prayed as I knitted - I felt so relaxed.  Mr HCB was downstairs watching something on Netflix but I don’t particularly like so it worked well for us and I have no doubt I will spend many more afternoons in my room.

Things that brought me joy today:

Seeing our lovely dentist, his nurse, Claire and the lovely receptionist, Debbie - she always teases me, but it’s great to have such a wonderful rapport with them all and I’m sure underneath their masks they were smiling!

Seeing the lovely smile on the face of the lady who served me in the Post Office - so I told her she had made my day

Feeling the warmth and seeing the sun after so many dull and dreary days - it really does lift one’s spirit.

“A warm smile is the 
     universal language
          of kindness.”
William Arthur Ward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.