Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Laying my hat

As in the song, "wherever I lay my hat that's my home". Today made an appointment to submit the application to swap my old EU citizen Spanish permanent residency certificate. In its place a new residency card. The card will specifically state that it's issued under the terms of the UK withdrawal agreement and that the holder was already resident before the end of the transition perood. It's not mandatory to do the swap but I want to make sure that if there are any extra freedom of movement benefits for those who had already exercised their right to free movement, before Brexit reared its head, that I don't miss out for lack of paperwork.

Also sorted something that's been on my todo list for a while. I requested the transfer of the bulk of a retirement savings plan to a low risk plan, given that my retirement age isn't far away and the world is a bit volatile. I might lose out a litle if there's an EU-UK trade agreement, but even if there is I think it will only be a honeymoon period before the reality of Brexit kicks in.

From the Christmas newsdesk: It appears that we won't have to take a PCR test after all in order to cross the border into Galicia to stay with our daughter C over Christmas.

Anyway, a productive day. Sorry if it was all a bit boring and bureaucratic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.