Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Doors 'n' Drawers*

Sometimes incompetence works in our favor. Most of the time it doesn't.

A month or so ago I get a notice from the California Department of Motor Vehicles that I needed to renew my drivers' license. It seemed like pretty good thing, because I could get a new one with my correct address on it. In California, one can make an appointment to visit the DMV. In Oakland, one has to wait a very long time even with an appointment, but a less long time than without one (which looking at the lines of people, and rows and rows of seats seems like it must be just short of forever.) It is not a place anyone goes willingly. In Santa Rosa, things are different. With an appointment, a sign informed me, I had a two minute wait. Without one, it was 156 minutes. Still not a place I love to go, but the awfulness is not endless as it is in Oakland.

After I failed to read ANY of the eye chart with my left eye, I tried, to no avail, to explain monovision to the eye chart lady. During cataract surgery a few years ago, one eye was corrected for close and the other for distance vision. Somehow the brain puts it all together, giving me near perfect vision with both eyes together. The eye chart lady was having none of it, and told me to come back with a note from my eye doctor. This took awhile to accomplish, but I made another appointment to go back with my note next month. Yesterday in the mailbox was a fat letter from the DMV with my new driver's license in it. On it it says, must wear corrective lenses . I think a good argument could be made for the fact that I AM wearing corrective lenses, don't you?

The news isn't quite so good in the pharmacy department. OilMan and I each have two prescriptions which are filled every month. We transferred them from the Safeway pharmacy in Berkeley to the Safeway pharmacy in Santa Rosa. Not once in the four months we have been in Santa Rosa has the pharmacy gotten it right. Endless trips to the pharmacy and calls to various doctors have failed to yield satisfactory results OR our four prescriptions. I won't go into the reasons we have been given for why this is so. That way lies madness....

*David and his brother-in-Law, the cabinet maker are installing our new cabinet doors and drawers today. No incompetence there. We're delighted with the way things are shaping up and looking forward to putting our kitchen back together soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.