SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Love And Adult Learning: Advent Day 18

' I remember coming along to see what was on at the community centre for Adult Learners' Week-oh that will have been in 2007 I think or maybe 6. Older Voices it was called-for over 50's I was actually 49 but they didn't mind. I told them when I arrived-I'm not good at anything, was useless at school but wondered if I could get a new hobby.

The new hobby started out as an acting class, moved quickly on to checking out what goes on behind the scenes in a theatre, then became script writing. In less than 4 years I became a script writer, me, who was useless, a script writer. I can't tell you I make a fortune, but I make a living-all from one wee nosy visit to the community centre. I can't thank the team enough-they've put me in touch with people who helped me into my work and kept in touch to see how I am-that's what I call good customer service. I've offered to write them a script too, about the good work adult learning does every day without being seen or shouting about it-it's a hidden gem. I just want to tell everyone how I fell in love, with life because of adult learning' ML

Lovely Friday story-Love and Adult Learning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.