Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Early 1950's Christmas Decorations

Early 1950's Christmas Decorations. These honeycomb decorations used to hang in  Nana's house in Trinity Place off Kings Street. These houses where demolished in the late 50's when I was about 8. The PC49 Character was based on a Radio Detective that was aired on the  BBC Light Program (forerunner to BBC Radio 2). This started broadcasting in 1945 and ran until 65. I remember listening to the programs as a boy. The Father Christmas is stylised after the Coca-Cola Santa Claus that they commissioned in 1931. 
I have deviated from my normal monochrome daily photo for Christmas and these decorations that have always been hung in my house at Christmas since I left home in 1970. Also not taken today on my iPhone but on the Olympus OMD EM 10 that was my wife's old camera before she started using my old EM1. This camera has picture framing styles that allow you to take a group of photos and camera combines them for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.