Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Is that a bear behind?

I must be a Marketing person’s dream.  I spotted these bears in the supermarket this morning, made out of chocolate by a well known chocolate company.  You know the one; they do bunnies and chickens at Easter and Santas and teddy bears now.  I couldn’t just buy one, I had to buy one for W too.  But here’s the thing;  they were on offer, so to buy three cost only marginally more than buying two.  So naturally, I would buy three; why wouldn’t I?  But then, who gets the extra teddy?  Me?  W?  I foresee problems.  So should I buy four?  But then the economist in me cuts in.  If I buy one extra, I not only pay full price for that one, but I effectively increase the unit price of them all.  What would you do?  Yes of course, I bought six, thus getting the benefit of the reduced price on them all.  And lots of lovely chocolate.

I mentioned yesterday that a dog had taken me for a sucker; today it’s chocolate marketeers.  I can’t say I’m complaining about either of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.