WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

St Pancras International

I tip my hat to the team who put St Pancras together again. I remember it being very shabby in the 70s but you would never know that now. It has been lovingly restored and transformed into an international terminus.

But there's something extra special about St Pancras that I can't quite put my finger on. Here's an example of what I mean. Inside this cavernous canopy of glass and steel, Victorian confidence in hyperdrive, sits an old piano. Anyone can come along and play it. It's a bit scrappy looking next to the shiny shops but it's part of the lifeblood of the station. It makes people slow down, take a second look, pause to listen to a familiar tune played by someone they've never met. Maybe the person playing it will soon depart on one of the many trains going who knows where - Sheffield or Paris Gare du Nord or points in between.

Why is the piano there? I don't know but I'm glad it is.

I love St Pancras. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.