CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

Paper V's Pixels

Paper versus pixels, celluloid versus CCD
Sometimes we are quick to create division in our lives, but in my experience life is never that simple.
This is the first "dead tree" book I have bought since getting a kindle just over a year ago. I bought the analogue version simply because there was no ebook version.
I love my kindle and it goes everywhere with me, but I have to admit I had forgotten the pleasure of a getting a new book, the tactile pleasure of the feel of the paper and smell of the ink. The delight when it turns out to be an exceptional book and takes its place in the hollowed company in the bookcase rather than the shelves of the local charity shop!
And the same applies to photography and the film versus digital debate.
I shoot exclusively digital but try to incorporate some of the discipline learned from shooting 35mm (although I agree digital still cannot compete with the tonal range available from film)
There is an optimistic view that many of the pressures on our natural resources will be reduced as society moves toward "virtual consumption" where people stream movies rather than buy DVDs, download music from itunes, etc., however I fear unless we learn to curb our desire for cheap disposable goods fueled by clever marketing and planned obsolescence it will be too late.
But am I ready for a world without books?

No

PS, In case you were wondering the books are: DIDITAL & ANALOUGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.