Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Wheeling

At Ben Rhydding the nature reserve was quiet. It was my first visit since March, and indeed my first sight of the River Wharfe in that time, despite it only being five miles away. 

Walking across the pastures from the train station felt like navigating a swamp, but a large flock of Lapwing wheeling overhead was a distraction. Up at the far end of the reserve I arrived at my usual lunch bench by the river just as a Kingfisher was departing; the two happenings may have been related. While munching my sandwiches a flock of Greylag flew over, as did a Kestrel and the Yorkshire Air Ambulance.

A little further upstream, with the sun out, reflections in the river augmented the fine winter light.

And then a quarter of a mile up the road I spent the rest of the afternoon watching Ilkley Town come from behind to earn a 3-2  victory over Horbury Town. Enough to take them top of the West Yorkshire Association Football League Premier Division for Christmas. And Lapwing and Red Kite  maintained the bird interest throughout the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.