wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Gingerbread lattes

I'm catching up on this week's blips. The last week of work has been busy. I had my last teaching group this morning and now it's "cheers" and let the holiday begin.
'Variation on a theme' blip: this is my daughter and I celebrating in Henry's coffee shop (i.e. her fiat Panda). The only dry & warm spot to drink a tier 3 take-away gingerbread latte, surrounded by Christmas mayhem in the shops around us! We click and collected at Curry's, popped into Tkmax for an Italian pandoro, Tesco's for some essentials... and then retreated to the car as the shops were extremely busy and it was all a bit alarming and overwhelming.
As we sat there, we received a what's app message about the change to Christmas rules and Tier 4 in London. What a pantomime this is!!! I felt angry and sad about it all and how it's being managed.
I also feel cross about plastic, disposable masks and disposable cups and felt torn between doing something pleasurable and restorative with my daughter (home from Uni) where we were able to talk and recuperate in the car with a treat or just driving home in the traffic :-(

There was nothing to it after that but to throw ourselves into a lovely evening meal at home and the Strictly Final. (Spoiler alert) Felt emotional watching it; it has indeed kept many of us going! Very happy that Bill won the glitter ball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.