Good Yule

The ancient festival of Yule coincides with the winter solstice. I'm not a follower of Pagan traditions but I LOVE the way the year is divided into festivals which recognise the changing seasons. At the winter solstice we dip into the darkest day of the year and wait with bated breath for the return of the sun. And return it will, though we have to wait a few weeks to see much of a difference in the amount light. Hooray!

I don't think this is, by any means, a 'proper' Yule alter though the pine tree has some Yuletide significance. The knitted banner was an early Christmas gift (or I opened it early anyway) and I think it looks just right! We don't live at No21 but this is our advent window for 2020. Some snowflakes have been added but I'm not taking more window photos today.

For the last week before the Level 4 restrictions return we're doing Monday childminding so a busy day beckons.

Good Yule everyone and watch out for the sun moving back. In the northern hemisphere anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.