....We Few, We Happy Few

By paul1332

SPOTY 2020

Here we have the BBC SPOTY 2020 For reasons I can’t even pretend to understand Lewis appears to divide opinion in Britain.

I did wonder if it’s because he’s a very rich young man but know there are many far richer so it really couldn’t be that.

I then thought maybe it’s because he has fancy accountants who make sure he pays the least tax possible. Again I thought no it won’t be that because again that’s standard for the wealthy.

Was it him living abroad but still daring to call himself British? Again we have a list of celebrities who do that.

So I started to consider sporting reasons. Apparently some hold the belief that you put any idiot in the fastest car and of course you’re going to win the race. This being the case why should we laud the driver? I’m just wondering how many Ballon D’Or trophies Lionel Messi would now hold if he had spent his entire career at Bournemouth FC? So I’m still stumped what the issue could possibly be.

Various comments on the BBC Sport website have attempted to point me in the right direction however it is still failing to get through.

I’m thinking if any other country happened to have the most successful F1 driver ever then they would be more than a little proud. I say successful because that can be measured as opposed to the subjective greatest, which is a debate for the pub when we can return.

So I say well done Lewis. Let’s make it 8.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.