Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Portrait of a lady

Found myself blipping a herd of Dorset Poll sheep in snow flurries this morning, on the way to see my mum who isn't feeling too good. The lovely farmer, Nick, came to feed them while I was there (yes, that's how I know they're Dorset Polls, I wouldn't have otherwise!) and I had a long conversation with him about the rearing of sheep, me digging back into my brain for the few crumbs of knowledge on said subject, picked up years ago in Devon - a very different farming community from Hampshire!

The upshot is I have permission to go back and photograph, which I'm dead chuffed about. In 2 weeks lambing will be at its height and I'm invited. This lady, though, along with her sisters, actually lambed in October. Dorset Polls are one of only 2 (I think) breeds to lamb so early, so the lambs in this field were fairly adolescent. I wished I'd had a coat as good as theirs.

Carpe diem kids x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.