Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Festive in the rain

It was a pretty miserable day today, although when we were eating dinner tonight I realised that the moon was shining brightly and it does seem to be a rather excellent evening, if only I was up to wandering about in the dark instead of yawning my way to bed. This morning saw our last Pilates class of the year, and probably the last studio meeting for a while, depending on how long we have to remain in Tier 4 after Christmas. It was a wonderfully peaceful class (sometimes we're giggly), with quiet music and gentle lighting and the usual core group working hard and quietly: I felt hugely the better of it. 

The other outing of the day was for a walk in the rain. It was so late when we went out that we didn't drive out of town, but walked down through it to the sea and along the East Bay to Kirn. I took this photo to blip just because I thought it looked rather cheery - the decorations are pretty low-key in town this year, but the lit shops and the tree in the church grounds cheer it up. And as I'm not seeing family this year, and not visiting anywhere new that I know of, I'm going to add my last extra in the shape of a gang of gulls sitting on the fence - it seems this is a favourite place for them, on a ramp to the sea on the East Bay. (Someone could perhaps tell me how to remove extras from earlier in the year if I need more this week).

In other news, the parcel I've been fretting about has arrived in Edinburgh after wandering about the country for almost a fortnight, and we've lost the handy key that lives in the hall and isn't there now. I've been through the pockets of all my jackets and a couple of pairs of trousers ... Suggestions on a postcard, as they used to say? 

And finally ... I realise I'm beyond despair about lorries in their thousands, about European countries closing their borders because of the mutated virus (see - they didn't need to leave the EU to "take back control" - because we all had it already, even the so-called UK), about people still flocking into crowded shops as if there was nothing going on other than Christmas. But I realised gradually how much easier if is to bear the idea of our first Christmas with just the two of us because we know that it's the same for so many of our friends. Bit like being in a war, really ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.