Boomerang

By Boomerang

Sky watching

When I heard about "the great conjunction" of Jupiter and Saturn happening today, the winter solstice, I didn't think that there would be much chance of having a clear enough sky to see it, considering the weather we have had recently. However, I was wrong. The clouds began to thin and break up mid afternoon so N and I thought that it was worth driving to a viewpoint near home where we could get a clear view to the south-west. It seemed like half the village had the same idea but we were all rewarded when the cloud drifted eastwards and we were able to see the two planets so close to each other. Apparently, they haven't been this close since 1623 so it felt really special to witness it, although it wasn't a spectacular sight. I have posted my photo of it as an extra although a magnifying glass may be needed to see the two white dots! The main is my first reasonable attempt at photographing the moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.