Eerie

Woke late, slightly confused about what day it was, then prepared for Board meeting with the new one I’ve just joined and which was interesting. Afterwards I headed out to take my new print to be framed (goodness knows when I’ll get it back!) then continued for a walk around the old town to try and keep my step count up...the place was like a ghost town with so few people and a lot of shops either closed up or open but empty. Feels like places have just given up, knowing they’ll all be closed down completely come Boxing Day. Picked up some nice cheeses from Mellis so that I’ll have some treats in the fridge over the next week, then home via supermarket for more mundane supplies, having run down my stocks thinking I’d be away. Passed this stencilled street art ...strange collection of graffiti slogans seem to being added and wiped away at regular intervals.
Had some lunch then V brought my car over and after a chat about the upcoming lockdown and how we’ll cope with everything closed again, I ran her home then back for an emergency meeting to plan impact of new rules for next semester start. I had so much trouble getting into the call but arrived eventually...so many strands of what needs to be planned.
Chatted to T, and good to hear that the goose he ordered for Boxing Day had been cancelled by the butcher so he won’t be stuck now we’re not going to be there to help eat it!
Had supper with one eye on an emergency zoom meeting for a society I’m in which seems to be In the throes of a governance crisis, but then watched a newish film of the Austen Emma and some cookery programmes. Need to decide what things to cook for myself over the next week or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.