Tuesday's painting...

...Some Christmas cards arrived yesterday. 
The first one I opened had one line in it. Not Merry Christmas. Nor Christmas greetings.
BUT in capital letters...
"WE'VE HAD COVID!"

I dropped it immediately. Those words are still seared inside my forehead. Sanitised my hands. Got the tongs, and dropped the whole thing in the waste bin.

Went and washed my hands (I do anyway when I receive Mail). But this was like an infected message....

So, I thought an Angel was needed today...
My digital painting for today I have painted in Procreate...using mostly the airbrush tool, and one other painting tool that creates sparkles...




I have just got back from the local shops...

The Polish shop was full of English/Welsh people trying to work out the Polish/Russian/East European languages on the unidentifiable goods in there, and looking totally bewildered. Me, I can read coffee, coffee bags (the coffee bags are great), meats, cheeses, sheep's yoghurt, kefir, and much more (they picked up a kefir when I did, and I am pretty sure they thought it was milk...oh well). And I just breeze in (okay on a Zimmer frame thing), and I am at the till while they are still looking and glowering at me. You shouldn't follow what I do or you will end up down that rabbit hole, or lost on a country lane (because I am lost too, but drive confidently when leaving a gridlocked traffic queue, to escape up a narrow country lane means you get all these motorists following me, and me laughing my head off).

Dear old Mark, our First Minister of Wales announced this sudden level 4 lockdown Saturday afternoon, to start at midnight (just a few hours later), saying all retail that was not essential had to shut, and beauty salons etc etc had to close. In other words just essential food can be sold. And that Christmas was virtually cancelled. 

I had a wee drive up the main High Street here, this morning, to see what was shut out of interest...

Apart from the charity shops which were closed, everything else was open - carpet shops, hardware shops, the bits of everything under the sun shops, beauty salons open, barbershops open, you name it and it was open and trading. Even the private gym was open, and also another certain oriental massage establishment...



I was quite shocked to see all that open. 
I didn’t spend long down there. 

I had to google to check that the Welsh First Minister hadn’t rescinded that lockdown directive when I got home. 

Also mask wearing seems to have gone by the board quite a bit as well. Even every assistant in one particular quite large shop were not wearing masks. That shocked me too. 

So the High Street here is probably best avoided.



There is a big dissonance in this area at the moment in obeying the level 4 lockdown measures, and also the protection taken against Covid. I find that more than a wee bit scary on several levels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.