Do they know it's Christmas....

Akbuk market (and a couple of shops) this morning - my first time properly "out" for six weeks (other than strolling along the beach most mornings) - transport kindly provided by Graham and Kat. Not sure what I'll do with all the produce I bought, but the colours and smells were amazing - as were the prices - huge great cauliflower for £1, three kilos of lemons for £1, one kilo of red peppers (that's a lot of peppers) for £1, three kilos of tangerines for £1, and so on. To be out and about in lovely sunshine was pretty amazing too.

Late afternoon I passed a couple of enjoyable hours teaching online and this evening, after a video call with mbfiatw Jean, I am now finally, 'doing' the Christmas tree, trying to make the effort, but it's a struggle.  My first, and probably last, Christmas here in Akbuk, and certainly not where I expected to be for the first festive fun time in my new status as retired, but then very little about this year has turned out to be as expected, for all of us. Bro, who is in isolation in Tier 4, where I would be if I'd gone to the UK, will at least be able to spend the Big Day with his kids, and it looks like I won't be alone either - more anon, don't want to jinx it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.