Let us defend the taste of fresh

On the day when the border between the UK and France across which so much freight travels in either direction was closed, it was ironic to see a wooden crate, obviously from France, waiting to be recycled outside Real Foods on Broughton Street.

A pretty quiet day, with some shopping in the morning (including standing in a queue outside George Bower for twenty minutes in Stockbridge) and later a trip to the gym. I spoke to L on zoom for a while, with gin in hand, and then we watched some nonsense TV, including two episodes of Christmas University Challenge. I had been reminded of it earlier on in the day on Facebook, by a person who participated in tonight's programme. In response to someone mentioning UC, he commented that he would rather be sitting in a lorry in Kent.... Indeed, his side did not do well, although it all started brightly as he answered the first question to get his side off the mark. I cannot imagine how much brain freeze I would suffer if I went on that programme. It's so much easier sitting in your own living room. I don't like Paxman's new glasses. They dominate the entire screen.

A lovely sunrise extra, as I have more extras left than there are days in the year remaining, more or less.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.