an old cynic's view

By superhero

Filing cabinets for humans

As the late Jimmy Reid called them
The one on the right is the sheltered housing complex my Dad lives in.
He is well looked after and most importantly safe.
Having said that he once let a girl into his house collecting for a charity, luckily it was genuine and no harm was done.
But coming from a generation who trusted people he never asked for ID,
I had occasion the other day to phone the warden as he told me some nice men were coming to lag his boiler.
I asked did he ask for ID this time ,he said no there had working clothes on and they seemed nice lads.
Again it was OK BUT PLEASE DAD ASK FOR ID
At nearly 94 he is forgiven ,but it shows how easy it is.
I know they wouldn't get past the warden but better to be safe than sorry
Campbell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.