Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Problems with giift cards purchased atSainsbury’s

BE warned Don’t buy third party gift cards from Sainsbury’s.Poor customer care and Very poor communication and advice. Like many this year many Christmas gifts are digital and most of the ones I bought for people were in the form of gift cards which I purchased from Sainsbury’s. It was good as I could by gift cards for retailers other than Sainsbury’s there such as Argos and M&S. but be warned if there is a problem with them Sainsbury’s take no responsibility and offer little or no help in finding a solution. I have spent the last 2 days in Twitter and on-line conversation with them and still have a major problem which they don’t seem to be able or willing to resolve. They don’t seem to have quality or audit systems in place to deal with the sale of third party gift cards. I would have imagined that it was part of their duty of care to take responsibility for everything they sold and have systems in place to ensure they could have an audit trail that could be used to resolve any problems
My problem: two of the M&S gift cards I purchased from Sainsbury’s were lost in the post. I contacted Sainsbury’s as I wanted them cancelled incase someone other than the intended recipients tried to use them. After more than 2 hours on Twitter I was advised by the Sainsbury’s gift card team that they could not help as they only dealt with Sainsbury’s gift cards and not third party ones. Evenalthough I explained that I was vulnerable, in recovery from a stroke and in tier 4 restrictions and should not travel I was told to go to the store where I purchased them with their receipt and they would be able to get them cancelled. So much against health advice I travelled to the store today with the receipt . There I was told that they could not help and I should not have been told they could. . So it was back onto the web when I got home and still no help from Sainsbury’s in resolving this. If I had purchased direct from M&S then there would have been no problem getting the gift cards cancelled but without information regarding the cards Sainsbury’s sold me they can not block them. Sainsbury’s does not appear to have this vital piece of information or is unwilling to provide it. To me this means the cards they sold me were not fit for purpose and I want a refund or the information so that I can get M&S to block/cancel the cards. So much for Sainsbury’s customer care and compassion and assistance to vulnerable customers- this is not good for my health or well being I want to lodge a non compliance in their quality and audit systems if they can not give me this information and have the gift cards cancelled. I also want to lodge an official complaint and have asked for the necessary forms to do so but if my experience is anything to go by I will not hold my breath waiting for them or a reply to my request .
Anyone have any advice for me? My advice to everyone is never buy third party Gift cards from Sainsbury’s. They are very willing to sell but take no responsibility for the sale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.