A Christmas Bouquet

After another sleepless night, the second in three nights when my brain doesn’t seem to have an off switch, it was quite a relief to get up and cross the road to the gym at a time when most normal people are still fast asleep, and put in some cardiovascular exercise.

It’s not as if my overactive brain is worrying about anything particular nor is it accomplishing anything useful as it tick tocks away, it is just a continuous rambling mixture of daily remembrances. It’s not even that I hadn’t had enough exercise yesterday because I walked over 6 miles. No, this inability to switch off is a horrible nuisance and something that many older people have to suffer.

The rest of theday passed pleasantly with a hand over of my muffins to neighbours and café staff both of whom may wonder at finding the odd pumpkin seed amongst the chocolate chips, a lingering catch up over coffee with 3 other near neighbours and finally a Zoom call with Maggies.
It makes such a short day when the light fades at 3pm. The ‘nights fairly drawing out’ are not that noticeable at the moment.
My blip is of the beautiful bouquet of flowers given to me by my upstairs neighbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.