My Choice (Part 5 of 5)

Suddenly and unexpectedly, the dog stopped her endless exploration amongst the trees, ran back to our companion and barked in a way that could not be ignored.  The dog’s surprising behaviour shook him from his contemplation; he looked around for the cause of the barking before his eyes settled on me.  We made the connection and the dog stopped barking.

Later that day, our friend returned for a second visit to the hillside.  He came back just as the light was disappearing into the night.  This time he was carrying a tool with sharp teeth.  He muttered to his dog about tree sizes and shapes, about forgetting which tree they had identified that morning, about them all looking the same and maybe it didn’t matter anyway.  The dog paid no heed, her nose told her of our differences.

He thought he was making a choice.  He did not know it but that choice had already been made.  His mind would tell him.  As he paused at each tree, his mind was ready - ‘too big’, ‘too little’, ‘too bushy’, ‘not bushy enough’, ‘not straight’, ‘bit scabby’, ‘too narrow’.  He continued his meanderings through the plantation.

Soon they stopped as his mind had instructed.  They stopped at me.  He looked admiringly and said ‘this is the one, this will do the job very well indeed.  Of course, I knew he would choose me for I had decided.  I had made the choice of when and where to fade away.  Shortly, he will bend down, lift my lower branches and start to cut.  I was now ready to feel the joy and add to the celebration and happiness.  That was my choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.