janescanlan

By janescanlan

Going home happy?

I found myself in the immediate area of the Emirates just as the Arsenal / Aston Villa match ended.
Arsenal won 2-1.
Not that you can tell from their fans faces. It was bloody cold though. I can imagine most were frozen having watched the match.

In 1978 my dad took me to Old Trafford for the first time. It was a night match & magical. I've never seen anything as green as the pitch under floodlights that night. And I've never heard a louder crowd. The cheers and songs echoed back off the brick walls at the back of the stands. And, most importantly, we won.

In 2013 I wonder how many kids were there for their first match day experience today? Bar scarves & burger vans. Nothing changes. Except the prices. Who can afford to take their kids these days?

Earlier in the day I took some photos of a Japanese happy clappy God Squad in Camden Town gatecrashed by a homeless man whilst singing Amazing Grace. You couldn't make it up :)

My team are 15 points clear at the top of the league. I'm very happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.