MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Pond-bound Moorhen (After Oil-bound Puffin)

I was on the roadside verge photographing snowdrops on the 21st and noticed this moorhen carcass.

When I opened The Telegraph this morning there was a half page ad for Bonhams Modern British & Irish Art auction, which will take place on 29th May. It features a work by Lucian Freud entitled Oil-bound Puffin. I immediately thought of the unfortunate moorhen which had been struck by a vehicle whilst trying to cross the busy road to the little hidden pond opposite.

I intended to present this in sepia to make it look more like the artwork but I couldn't dispense with that little flash of colour provided by the poor bird's beak.

Strange how similar my bird is to Freud's. :)

PS I belatedly added a link to Freud's image and I don't think his bird is a puffin, the beak is wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.