50 years ago we got engaged on Christmas Eve.

I rooted out two old photos last night. One of Stephen and myself, when we were engaged, sitting on a wall at Churchill College, Cambridge, in the spring of 1971.
We actually got engaged on Christmas Eve in 1970. He was 18 years old and me 22 years old. I was in my second year of teaching.
The second one on his degree day in Cambridge when he received his law degree. We got married two weeks later on July 14th 1973.
I haven’t any extras so I can’t post it here.
The Christmas we got engaged we also went Carol singing with our church youth group, up in
Rawtenstall, Lancashire, round the local hospital.
When we came out it was snowing. As we walked back to my house through the local park, it was like a winter wonderland.
Sometimes seems like yesterday, and sometimes like looking through a telescope lens the wrong way round, where the past is stretched out in images in the mind.
I hope you all have as good a Christmas as you can under these circumstances.
We had a phone call from our son and daughter-in-law the other evening when Christmas restrictions were altered. They asked us if we would like to go down to see them on Christmas Day.
I guess after months of not seeing then and months after this the same, we all decided just to be together for that one day.
I think after this we are heading for another full lockdown.
But I wish you a Happy Christmas and Hope for a better 2021.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.