Imagine the view....

By btc

Old Kent Road £60...

....I can imagine that when you thought that I was going to do Old Kent Rd that this wasn't the image that you were imagining, me neither.

I was expecting Tower blocks, low end supermarkets and people drinking out of brown papers, to be fair I got lots of shots like that but just as I was leaving I came across this building (just off the OKR, but only marginally).

This is Caroline Gardens Chapel on Asylum Rd (I can still OKR and no, there is no 'the' at the start of that road either, it's only 20 yards in so it counts), despite being called an "asylum", the grade-II-listed site was used in its older sense of "sanctuary" and it was in fact an old folks' home for retired pub landlords.

The Chapel space behind the pillars, is currently an art and filming space, but believe it or not the outer wings you see with the doors is actually council housing which covers 3 sides of the courtyard, the building as you walk by strikes you (or at least it did me) as a country home or museum, however once you get on site the feel of the building certainly changes, but still the nicest council estate I've ever seen.

Thanks all for the comments, stars and favs for my shopping trip yesterday, I'm off out for the evening so have a great night whatever you are up to.

Matthew numbers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.