Ely peasants

This 15p stamp was issued in 1989 to celebrate 800 years of Ely cathedral and the images on the set are take from the windows. This one shows four peasants.

In 1989 I would have completed my first term at University and would have been back home with my parents for Christmas. My little brother would have finished school that year and entered the job market. He worked for a local double glazing firm, and thought he was minted! Sadly he had a nasty accident at work and cut his hand badly - and was off work for a long while, when he went back the firm went bust - apparently they had been cooking the books so he didn't even get a redundancy cheque...

Baring an issue at work, today has been my last working day of the calendar year. I managed to get a few things done today, but it's never as much as you plan. At the moment it's a blue sky with a few fluffy clouds outside - which makes for a nice change, it's been pretty cloudy and wet most of this week - though quite mild.

I know this hasn't been the best of years for many of us, but I think all I can do is wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.