Shall I?

The ford at Sutton was not much of a ford today; the river was in spate and if you walked this bridge you could see the width of the water.  But from a distance it looked much less threatening.  Fortunately I was caught by a deceptive puddle two years ago and I'm much more wary now of water on roads.

But if you have a 4WD vehicle the temptation is great to prove your machine's abilities; although this old Jeep was kept safely in the dry, an old Land Rover Discovery appeared on the other side, paused for about 20 seconds and hit the river.  The water came up to the base of the windscreen and the headlights were barely visible under water, but it made it to the other side.

Where it stopped: I thought because my car was in the way, but it was to empty the footwells . . . see Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.