Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Frohe Weihnachten

Today was eventful and not only because it is Christmas. It was also an eventful night with strong winds and heavy rains. Before coffee I wired up the new water pump which was yesterdays job to install. Then a fellow boater, who is on a fixed pontoon, asked I check the ropes and realised the River Ouse was in flood. I looked across the river to what is normally fields but everything was under water. My mom and I did some litter picking and flood watching, reminiscing when similar floods took place when growing up.

A different fellow boater knocked on my boat to let me know a Christmas parcel arrived from my sister in Edinburgh (where we were meant to be for Christmas). This was a surprise as we were told no parcels will be arriving from 22 December - 4 January as the chandlery is closed during this time.

We took a stroll to the next village to look at Christmas lights and came back to a warm 7 degree boat, compared to the 3 feels like -7 outside. Upon return, a third fellow boater (turns out it was my neighbours) crocheted little sheep and hung them up on my plants which was a lovely little surprise to come home to. The boating community truly is one of a kind.

My mom and I bravely celebrated Christmas after speaking to all our family. We are lucky to be together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.