Family traditions

Since Bella was a month short of being two, she has had the honor of placing the star on top of the tree on Christmas Eve (see Extra for this year, and second Extra for the "formal" family portrait with Bella crossing her eyes). Evan arrived five years ago, so it's his job to turn on the light in the star. [Felix was not in the mood to cooperate. He's going through his adolescence.]

We had a wonderful in-person visit, all masked all the time, except for the star-placing-and-lighting event. We didn't eat or drink anything together, we didn't touch, and I left as soon as we'd opened our modest gifts, but it was a joy beyond telling to be with them in person. 

Tonight I'll enjoy my holiday tradition: watching Fanny and Alexander (I still have the DVD of it). Tomorrow I'll go over to Sue's house and we'll spend the day quietly. We were going to try Keibr's Salmon Wellington, but there was no salmon, so I think it will be cheese and bread, suggested by Tweedy, Damonii, and a few others. Maybe some grapes if Sue has found some. Our shops are sparsely provisioned, thanks to Covid. Seth gave me The Vanishing Half and Lost Spells, and I'm giving Sue a book--so we'll have reading material. 

I hope all of you have as loving and kind-hearted a holiday as possible, given the various constraints. May the vaccines reach you before Covid does, and may we go on singing and laughing, no matter what.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.