And To All, A Good Night

I busied myself today by making some of the dishes served at Polish Christmas Eve, or Wigilia. I've got my mother's recipes, but hardly any experience in doing this, but I did watch a show called Polish Your Kitchen that inspired me to try. There is a picture in the Extras of a big platter of pierogi, and another of the full plate that includes sauerkraut with mushrooms, and a kind of porridge made from barley*. I'm happy to report that everything came out tasting the way I remember. And now I'm stuffed and sleepy and remembering family gatherings from seventy years ago, people long gone, customs almost forgotten. Like everyone else, we aren't seeing family this year, so this little revival is what there is. The Ghost of Christmas Past...

And here is a song for Christmas Present:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XktzdER12OY&feature=youtu.be

* if any of you Polish folks recognize this dish, please tell me the name in Polish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.