Beewriter

By Beewriter

Christmas Dip!

It was a lovely start to the day as Pat and I went for a walk around Entwistle Reservoir. She was free until eleven so we left at 8:30am. It was bitterly cold, but the sun was shining. The ground was icy. It was lovely. We took a flask and sat half way round on a bench for a cuppa.

As my mum and auntie’s ashes were scattered there I took a bauble for each of them with a message on and hung it on one of the decorated holly bushes.

I’ve always wanted to do a Christmas Day dip so I refilled my flask when I arrived home and set off to Gaddings Dam. It was even colder up there. The hillside was icy but I climbed up quite easily. I can’t put into words how cold the water was, my toes froze straight away, but I got in and had a quick swim. A couple were walking around the top of the dam and they stopped to say they were amazed I’d actually got in in a bikini. They offered me a drink of Prosecco but I decided my hot tea was what I needed. It started to snow as I got dressed. I decided not to walk the longer way down on my own when it might snow harder and so I went back down the steep way I’d come up. It wasn’t easy with a metal knee and the icy ground. I did have one fall and now have a lump on my head. But the whole thing was exhilarating and I would do it again.

Merry Christmas to everyone out there. I hope you’ve all had a good day. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.