Gifts of light

We had Christmas lunch by ourselves and it was good and from the table we watched birds trying to feed themselves up before darkness fell. The colours of the Goldfinch always stand out and it reminded me of the Lost Spell - Goldfinch:

Out in the gardens and fields,
Goldfinches are gilding the land for free,

Leaving little gifts of light:
   a gleam for the teasel,
   a glint for the tree.

Charm on, Goldfinch, charm on 

I got my own copy of the Lost Spells for Christmas, the one I was using before was the one I gave our granddaughter for her birthday on Wednesday. And, as a follow up to that, I just had to share a photo her mother took and sent me. That night she found Ella in bed but, instead of sleeping, she was reading the Lost Spells using the little torch that I gave everyone last year. 

I hope lots of people, young and old,  got the book for Christmas. And I hope everyone's day had a streak of gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.