Unite and fight

We are Muslims, we are Christians, we are Jews. And some of us are gay. So went one of the chants from the approximately 1,000 people who took to the streets of Cambridge today to demonstrate against the far-right English Defence League (EDL) who were in Cambridge to protest against the building of a new mosque in the city.

Well, that was what their publicity said. As far as I could see when I went for a stroll to the EDL gathering point about an hour before their rally was due to start, their supporters seemed to be more intent on getting as pissed as possible as quickly as possible on cans of Fosters lager which were being freely distributed amongst themselves.

Then when they were encouraged by the police to move off the street and into the cordoned-off area provided for them they began to shout obscenities at each other, bicker about whose turn it was to hold up racially and culturally offensive posters and threaten each other with drunken taunts.

I was determined that, today, I was NOT going to take shots of the safe, fluffy, positive messages from 'our' side. I wanted to get shots of the 'others'. The EDL. And I did.

If you are on Facebook you can see them by going to my Look,See,Click Photography page here. They are included in that album, alongside many positive images from the day.

I really, really, really love doing this type of photography. I think I've said that many times before .....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.