Happy Birthday Sam x

Sam turned 18 today. I can't quite believe it. That wee dark haired babe who I could not take my eyes off is 18. I couldn't sleep the first night of his life for the sheer wonder of him. I just wanted to drink him in, so I watched him, my heart full to bursting with happiness. That wee babe completed me. Now I am gradually letting him go. After 18 years of being responsible for him, loving him and at times being driven to distraction by him - letting go is hard. I feel completely unprepared to send him into the unknown and fearful of the mistakes he will inevitably make.

It is your journey now Sam and I hope you will be open to all the new experiences, people and opportunities that come your way. Believe in yourself, have integrity and be happy. More than anything be happy.

We all met up in the evening after Nick and Sam had gone for his first legitimate pint and had a wonderful meal at Mother India. Sam was game enough to wear the HUGE number 18 badge that had flashing lights and we toasted his future together as a family.


We love you X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.