Low Rider

Even after 3 months still love my 1995 VW Polo but often forget I am no longer driving a Jeep. The only thing that I can't get used to is getting in and out! It's a nightmare. It doesn't worry me once I am behind the wheel.

Naturally, as my average drive is probably 4 km, all the missing gadgets and even automatic gearbox don't bother me. I'm not stuck here, parking for the Schickling dog walk, but I noticed just how low the car was when I got out.

Reminded that back in 1979, my Dad downsized after my mother died moving into a small cottage and trading in his Ford Capri for a VW Polo 3-door hatchback with which a few months later, he, my wife & I did a 10-day driving holiday to Germany visiting two uncles and Granny but doing a real tourist holiday throughout southern Germany, staying night for night at a hotel/B&B wherever took our fancy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.