fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Lamppost

It will not go out of my mind that if we pass this post and lantern, either we shall find strange adventures or else some great changes of our fortunes.
(Lucy in The Chronicles of Narnia, CS Lewis)


KaliBug's February Challenge: 20) Picture of Family or Something Symbolizing Your Family

Well, if you thought yesterday's blip was cryptic, then this is even more so! I puzzled for days and days over how to symbolize my family - with my sister and her partner in Edinburgh and my parents in Leicestershire a picture of them all was impossible.

The lamppost was my sister's idea. I could say that they light the path for you, showing you which way to go. I could waffle on about the role of the lamppost in the Narnia books which burns day and night, and is a landmark by which to navigate and a boundary marker.

All these things could be relevant metaphors for discussion about family. But they aren't the reason I've chosen it. People who know me well may know immediately (no giving it away!), or be able to work it out. All I will say is that it has something to do with the relationship these things have with dogs! ;-)

Hello lamppost ...

I took pictures of various pretty lampposts around the Cathedral and riverbanks in Durham. This one doesn't show off the lamppost to best effect, but I chose it because of the blossom in the top left corner. I couldn't believe it! It looks very much like cherry blossom to me ... could that be possible in February? Also I liked the bicycle chained to the railings, but it isn't very obvious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.