My best books 2020

I haven't read as many books as usual this year, which is surprising as we have had the various lockdowns. Then I realised that I read a lot more when I am staying away from home and I haven't been staying away from home. Anyway, from the 41 books I have read, here are my top nine. Some are new, some are old (there's 160 years between the two books in the thumbnail), a couple are re-reads, but all are books I have really enjoyed. Books that have made me think, books that will stay with me. I am not recommending any as that is always difficult, suffice to say that this was my best reading of 2020.

All fiction except one. I tend to dip in and out of the non-fiction we have around the house, but "To the Island of Tides' I read from cover to cover and loved. The author travels to - and through the history of - the Island of Lindisfarne from his home in the Borders. I was planning to follow some of his routes when we went to stay in Northumberland, but of course that did not happen. Now I will have to read it again before we actually make it there. 

The extra is my daughter modelling the cowl I made her. This was what I was knitting here. I made all the girls a cowl and they seem to like them. I am trying to finish one for myself and now Gordon says he wants one! I need to do more reading and less knitting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.