O.K. It's not brilliant.

But then again they seldom are. However it tickled my funny-bone and when mein/mine host saw me trying to get a sneaky one through the door and invited me in.

"The erroneous "mein host" may have arisen among people
unaware of the antiquity of this expression in England,
cf. Keats's verse (approx. 1810) about the Mermaid Tavern - - - - -

" I have heard that on a day
Mine host's signboard flew away.
Nobody knew whither till
An astrologer's old quill . . ."
English "mine host" is nowadays thought affected or
old-fashioned, because it was in use centuries ago.
"

I also spotted/nearly blipped some Katkins in Co-op car-park, not to mention a sign in Morrison's announcing
"100% BRITISH BEEF IN ALL OUR PIES" they avoided all mention of burgers and Lasagne.

I, very nearly, entitled this "FUBARed - NOT" It was located in a recently opened hostelry called "MOO BAR". A bit of a novelty these days, with so many closing down. Must "partake of the waters" sometime it looks very spartan, seemed to have a couple of picnic tables and wooden benches as furniture and the odd barrel or two as decor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.