Transmission mode only..

By Mobius

Southwell Building Study I - Oxton Prebend

Quite regularly walking the dogs in Southwell to avoid the sea of mud (and water) surrounding our village; plus is a nice change.

Southwell Minster is bordered by many grand (and lesser grand) houses which the Minster Collegiate cannons used to live in. They cannons were funded by income from local parishes, and who used to meet in the Minsters Chapter House.

Most still retain their prebend name, but alas not this (see extra) which was funded by the parishes of Oxton, Calverton & Cropwell Bishop (by chance the stiliton cheese we ate last night). It's first canon resident is listed as living here in 1215. 

Additional details can be found here
 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prebends_of_Southwell#The_Prebend_of_Oxton

My right hand has already lost much strength from its injections on xmas eve and will soon be tempoarily usesless for a few weeks. Am regretting not challenging my young but old school alpha consultant from being so trigger happy. I was only intending to have neck and surrounds done. An uncharitable thought but I wonder if mentioning that my mindful movement exercises were improving it acted as a prompt. He is however the expert and does consider my case outside of appointment times - and it may well end up helping me, given that everything is connected. I'm sure my efforts to focus on self control of the spasms is the key route to success.

The proud owner of a 4D number plate, my son is less than pleased that they are to be banned from 1 September 2021 - he thinks due to some marques over embellishing the design. He swapped xmas presents with his girlfriend yesterday and was very lucky to receive a supercar driving experience from her - that should ease the pain!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.