In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'White Night - Melbourne'

Last night was White Night in Melbourne.

'From Dusk til dawn, white night Melbourne, the city was transformed into an all-night wonderland with over 80 free events celebrating music, food, film, art & light'

I decided I'd get up super early and go in, rather than dealing with huge crowds on a very warm night. Glad I did, I arrived in the city at around 5am, and the crowds were definitely thinning out. There was a rock band in full swing playing on the steps of Flinders Street Station, performers all the way around Fed Square and Flinders Street and a great projection show of animated images on to all of the buildings on the Northern side of Flinders Street directly opposite Federation Sqaure.

I stood around and watched this puppeteer perform his show for about 15 minutes, he was quite a genius how he got his little puppet to sing and dance.

This is actually a single shot, but I liked the 2 halves better than the complete image, but couldn't decide which half to blip, so Mrs R suggested showing both side by side.

I was back home again by 7:30am, with Dylan waiting at the door for me to arrive (he'd already called me on my mobile phone at 6:45am to see when I'd be home).

After that we all had some breakfast which included some of the bread that the kids baked yesterday, just with butter. Yum, and then headed back in to have a look around the Queen Victoria Market. I bought myself a new leather belt, and saved $5 be recycling the old buckle which was perfectly fine.

Mrs R bought some dips and Turkish bread for lunch, we found a shady table and listened to a couple of singers busking while we ate. By this time the temperature had reached about 30 degrees so we decided to drive just down the road to St.Kilda beach for ice-creams, but I missed the turn off and we ended up heading all the way down to Rye beach on the new Peninsula Link Freeway which just recently opened. Ah hour later we arrived there and had gelati followed by an hour or so down on the sand.

Dylan has been much better behaved today and he bough himself a new watch at the market which has kept him occupied all day and his mind off 'other things'

Home now and ready for an early night. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.