Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Mackenzie

Hard to believe, but yet another awesome day. Slept in sadly (as I wasted some of the day) but we made up for it with a walk up Mt John. Was going to ride, but a little tired unusually.

Not a long walk, only an hour or less, with the kids, and many stops for photos. Fab day, as you can see.

Had coffees etc at the excellent café at the top, and were treated to a quick tour of the "Moa 2" telescope, a joint venture with Japanese University. Super interesting.

Then back down the hill, to the house for lunch, and then Adam and I headed out to the canals, to see the maintenance work being carried out. Locals might know that the Tekapo/Pukakai canal is closed for maintenance and they have drained large sections. I'm pleased to say that I have now walked on the bottom of the canal! Boy thing, was a highlight of my day and was a very very close contender for the blip. Adam wouldn't', being the law abiding citizen that he is. We then drove back to another part of the canal, and again, I jumped the gate to see the coffer dam and the repair works. Really fascinating. Couldn't help myself, put some photos on Facebook.

Finally, back to Tekapo, pack the car, and off home. Fabulous weekend, back soon I'd say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.