Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Underside of Rodeos

What a day!! I would not want to repeat parts of it.
First disaster, Keith cut a finger very badly on a serrated Victorinox kitchen knife. Him being a GP and I an ex-nurse was no help in staunching the flow of blood so I dropped him off at the Emergency Department at the hospital for them to sort his finger out....
"Go and walk the dogs instead of waiting here" he said.
So I did. No sooner were they out of the vehicle than they made a beeline for some absolutely stinking rotten fish carcasses that someone had dumped near the track.
Both dogs rolled in the carcasses.
I tied them up and got them, one at a time, into a pool in the river and using my bare hands attempted to rinse off the worst of the fish entrails, skin and scales.
Then I phoned the Council Park Ranger. He had the job of clearing up the fish remains...poor fellow.
I walked the dogs while Keith sat and twiddled his healthy fingers and thumbs at the hospital.
Home... Dogs tied up, one at a time, to the plum tree in the garden and thoroughly shampooed and towel dried. Towels and dog leads into the wash. Chained dogs up so they couldn't roll on the dusty dried up lawn.
I showered but still couldn't get the fish smell off my hands.
Late lunch
Finally... off to the Rodeo at Tuamarina, a small settlement a few kilometers from Blenheim. It is an annual fund-raising event for the local school and community.
Met up with kindred spirits (other photographers) and spent time trying to keep dust out of camera.
Got lots of shots, bare-back riding, Barrel Race, Bronco Riders finally the Bull Riders. Deleted most of the shots.
I had never been to a Rodeo before ...don't quite know what I feel about them now.
I think my chosen image tells a story. The Bull Rider is about to part company with the bull......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.