Wood's adventures

By Pippilongstock

father and son

Playing Fifa together, I suspect that Ad has quietly waited for this moment, maybe without even realising for 8 years. The quiet contentment and then shouts of delight were something to hold on tight to.

The day started to with a text to say that my aunt had deteriorated massively over night and that whilst not over, it wasn't good. She was admitted to hospital in August with acute pancreatitis, having previously had no health issues. She battled. She deteriorated and spent a week in ICU in October, she improved, she plateaued, and finally, finally they were talking discharge. A hospital bed was delivered home to my Uncle and plans in place for carers. And then Covid. While initially asymptomatic pneumonia came and did its worse. And with escalating numbers we can't hold those who need to be held, one cousin stuck in Oz, unable to return home for his own comfort and that of his brother and my Uncle. There was still so many conversations to be had. Have the conversations. Hold people tight. And make sure you tell those that you love, that you do indeed love them very much. I will miss her, but I know my grief is nothing compared to her husband and children. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.