Patience is a virtue

I went for milk and the papers at the usual time this morning confident that the pavements there and back within the estate would be salted, but I did leave the journey to the bank in town much later in the hope that the sun would have melted any icy patches on the route there.

I’m still chasing money that the scam sale removed from my bank account. It seems that I have as much chance as a snowball in hell (topical!) of getting anything back either from the scamsters or the bank. Without going in to detail the outfit that took the money operate on the very edge of the law and the bank and the trading standards have their hands tied because of the small print which was so small I didn’t see it.

I was amazed to see so many people out and about in Princes Street given that only food shops are open. Maybe the news that the AstraZenica vaccine is about to be rolled out has made people think it’s safe to flock to the city centre.

Walking home I saw this newly married couple about to have their photographs taken in the cloisters near the Signet Library and spied a possible blip.
All I can say is that the length of time this poor bride waited in the freezing cold while her new husband wrestled with knots on his kilt shoe laces would surely have sent warning signals to her. 5 minutes passed and he was still on his knees trying to perfect the look of having them tied half way up his legs. A perfectionist obviously, but my patience is minimal, unlike that of the shivering bride and I couldn’t wait any longer. I hope they didn’t have a row after I had gone.

I had a walk in the sunshine after lunch over the crunchy snow of the Meadows before the clouds rolled in and there was a snow shower. I believe there is a weather warning for more to come tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.